for the proper conduct of its business. The tribunal has all such powers, rights and privileges as are vested in a superior court of record. Its decisions or orders are subject to review and are to be set aside by the Federal Court of Appeal. The tribunal is under the jurisdiction of the Minister of Justice but is independent of the Department of Justice.

Anti-Inflation Board. An interim board was created by Order in Council 1975-2429, October 14, 1975. It was replaced December 15, 1975 by the Anti-Inflation Board which was established by the Anti-Inflation Act (SC 1974-75-76, c.75 amended by SC 1976, c.98). Under the act, the board administers the guidelines enacted to restrict price and wage increases. It is required to monitor changes in prices, profits, compensation and dividends; to consult and negotiate with the parties involved to bring such changes within the guidelines; and to inform the public about inflation and its causes. The principal office is in the National Capital Region and the board may meet at such times and places as the chairman deems advisable. The board consists of a chairman, vice-chairman and five regional members appointed by the Governor in Council. The board may also require assistance from persons having technical or specialized knowledge or from any federal department or agency. The board reports to Parliament through the Minister of Finance.

Army Benevolent Fund Board. The Army Benevolent Fund Board, established by the Army Benevolent Fund Act (SC 1947, c.49, as amended by SC 1974-75-76, c.3), administers the Army Benevolent Fund and other like funds, from special accounts in the Consolidated Revenue Fund. The board awards grants from the special account to veterans or their dependents for relief, if none is available from government sources, and for educational assistance, contingent on need and continued progress. The board has five members appointed by the Governor in Council, one of them nominated by the Royal Canadian Legion and one by the National Council of Veterans Associations in Canada. Head office is in Ottawa. The board reports to Parliament through the Minister of Veterans Affairs.

Atlantic Development Council. Created under the 1969 Government Organization Act (SC 1968-69, c.28), the Atlantic Development Council is composed of 11 members, including a chairman and vice-chairman, appointed by the Governor in Council to reflect the economic structure of the region comprised of New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland. Its function is to advise the Minister of Regional Economic Expansion, in respect of the Atlantic region, on matters to which his duties, powers and functions extend, and particularly on plans, programs and proposals for fostering the economic expansion and social adjustment of the Atlantic region, and the feasibility and merits of particular programs and projects.

**Atomic Energy Control Board.** By act of Parliament (RSC 1970, c.A-19) proclaimed October 1946, the regulation and control of atomic energy in Canada was placed under the Atomic Energy Control Board. The board reports to Parliament through the Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources.

Atomic Energy of Canada Limited. This Crown company was incorporated in February 1952 under the Atomic Energy Control Act, 1946 (RSC 1970, c.A-19) to take over from the National Research Council on April 1, 1952 the operation of the Chalk River project. The main activities of the company include scientific research and engineering development in the atomic energy field, the development, design and marketing of nuclear power systems, and the production of radioactive isotopes and associated equipment, such as cobalt-60 beam therapy units for the treatment of cancer. AECL is responsible for the construction and operation of heavy water plants and research and development involving present and prospective heavy water production methods. The company reports to Parliament through the Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources.

Bank of Canada. Legislation of 1934 (RSC 1970, c.B-2) provided for the establishment of a central bank in Canada to regulate credit and currency, to control and protect the external value of the Canadian dollar and to stabilize the level of production, trade, prices and employment as far as may be possible within the scope of monetary action. The Bank of Canada acts as the fiscal agent of the Government of Canada, manages the public debt and has the sole right to issue notes for circulation in Canada. It is managed by a board of directors appointed by the government and composed of a governor, a deputy governor and 12 directors; the Deputy Minister of Finance is also a member of the board (ex officio). The bank reports to Parliament through the Minister of Finance.

Blue Water Bridge Authority. Created by the Blue Water Bridge Authority Act (SC 1964, c.6), this authority is responsible for the operation of the Canadian portion of the bridge spanning the St. Clair River from Point Edward, Ont. to Port Huron, Mich. Tolls set are subject to the approval of the Canadian Transport Commission. The authority is a non-profit organization and all toll moneys must be used for the operation and maintenance of the present bridge or for the building of a new one. It is not an agent of the Crown but members of the authority are appointed by the Governor in Council on the recommendation of the Minister of Transport with terms of office ranging from one to five years.